Research Guides: Civil Rights/Social Justice: Search the Databases

Databases - Civil Rights & Social Justice

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Reference titles, audio clips of music and slave narratives, biographies, history, folklore and civil rights
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies of figures in American history
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Collections of primary source documents: "Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-84," "Records of the Persian Gulf War," "The Civil War in Words and Deeds" and "Tienanmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-93"
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Online collection of video from the History Channel, A&E Network and Biography available for the study of American history
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies and other areas of key relevance to the discipline
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology and observational and experimental methods
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search race-related articles

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Current event issues covered in periodical articles, ebook chapters, statistics, videos and more
SIRS Issue Researcher This link opens in a new window
🚧 Database has connection issues 🚧
Current events and issues focused on pro/con topics with articles from magazines and newspapers, timelines and images
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Essays, political magazine and newspaper articles, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference book articles

What Can You Find in Library Databases?

Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images, and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches get lots of results, but it can be difficult to determine which websites provide reliable, accurate info that’s appropriate for college-level research.

Signing In.

If you aren't on campus, you will need to sign in to access the databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use for eCampus access (full Dallas College email address and password). Click here for details - Signing In.

Using Databases Video

The database linked below covers many different subject areas and can be used tor finding reliable research sources required for various classes.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines and newspapers on many subjects

The link below goes to go to an alphabetical list of all library databases and has a drop-down menu to find databases on specific subjects.