Arts and Humanities

Brookhaven Library

eReference

If not on campus, sign in with your eCampus login info, which is your full Dallas College email address and password. More details are available on the Signing In to Library Resources page.

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from specific periods
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries
Encyclopedia of Religion
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes Through World History
Time, technology and culture influence the homes of people throughout the world
The Routledge Companion to Dance Studies
Maps out the key features of dance studies as the field stands today, while pointing to potential future developments.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa

Architecture Reference Books

Located upstairs in the library (Level 2.5).

The Elements of Style
Call Number: NA 2850 .E445 2005
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Call Number: N 5610 .G76 2007
The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture
Call Number: N 7830 .M87 1998

Art Reference Books

Located upstairs in the library (Level 2.5).

Design: The Definitive Visual History
Call Number: NK 1390 .D467 2015
Facts on File Encyclopedia of Art
Call Number: N 31 .F33 2005
Styles, Schools and Movements
Call Number: N 6490.4 .D45 2005
Encyclopedia of the Black Arts Movement
Call Number: NX 512.3 .A35 E539 2019

Dance Reference Books

Located upstairs in the library (Level 2.5).

More Opening Nights on Broadway
Call Number: ML 1711.8 .N3 M8 1997
The Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical Theater
Call Number: ML 100 .Q44 2004

Humanities Reference Books

Located upstairs in the library (Level 2.5).

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: NX 440 .A787 2005
A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes
Call Number: NX 456 .K67 2000b
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era 1760-1850
Call Number: NX 452.5 .R64 E53 2004
New Religions: a Guide
Call Number: BP 603 .N492 2004

Music Reference Books

Located upstairs in the library (Level 2.5).

Billboard Guide to Tejano and Regional Mexican Music
Call Number: ML 102 .T45 B87 1999
The Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Call Number: ML 128 .M78 B6 2001
International Dictionary of Black Composers
Call Number: ML 105 .I5 1999
Music Since 1900
Call Number: ML 197 .S634 2001

Report an Online Accessibility Issue
Report a Problem
Print Page
URL: https://libguides.brookhavencollege.edu/artsandhumanities
Last Updated: Jan 5, 2022 11:22 AM
Login to LibApps
Search this Guide
Resources Added by Faculty and Staff Request Only