Research Guides: Government: Articles (Databases)

Library Databases

What Can You Find in Library Databases?

Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images, and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches get lots of results, but it can be difficult to determine which websites provide reliable, accurate info that’s appropriate for college-level research.

Signing In.

If you aren't on campus, you will need to sign in to access the databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use for eCampus access (full Dallas College email address and password). Click here for details - Signing In.

Using Databases Video

The link below goes to go to an alphabetical list of all library databases and has a drop-down menu to find databases on specific subjects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines and newspapers on many subjects
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals and full-text country reports
JSTOR Essential Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR essential arts & sciences archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals and other content ✚ COVID-19 Response: Expanded access to additional resources through June 30, 2021 ✚ |► Video from JSTOR ►|
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Digests, references for additional information, citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Reference titles, audio clips of music and slave narratives, biographies, history, folklore and civil rights
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Analysis of news issues containing overviews, backgrounds, chronologies, current situations, tables, maps and bibliographies

Statista This link opens in a new window
Find facts, numbers, analyses and forecasts from government, foundations, news organizations and business - export data to Excel or create PowerPoint graphics

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1984 to present
Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the Austin American-Statesman (coverage: 1997 to present), the Houston Chronicle (coverage: 1997 to present) and other Texas newspapers
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles for 40+ US and international newspapers, selective full-text articles from 389 regional US newspapers
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Create and activate account to access the New York Times and more
NOTE: NYTimes.com Pass Account required for access