Research Guides: History: Reference

eReference

If not on campus, sign in with your eCampus login info, which is your full Dallas College email address and password. More details are available on the Signing In to Library Resources page.

American History Through Literature 1820-1870
Presents literature as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives
American History Through Literature 1870-1920
Presents as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives
Art and Architecture of the World's Religions
Major faiths from countries and continents around the globe
Dictionary of American History
Wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the present, focusing on critical issues as well as the groups of people involved
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Six-volume survey of modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south
Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
A five-volume survey of European history from the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War
Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
A multi-volume survey of European history from the beginning of World War I in 1914 to the present
Groundbreaking Scientific Experiments, Inventions, and Discoveries of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Describes experiments, inventions and discoveries of the period, as well as the scientists, physicians and scholars responsible for them
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Surveys the history of Western thought and culture with entries exploring origin, cultural interpretations and historical themes
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film, music, print culture, social life, sports, television, radio, art and performance
The Value of a Dollar: The Colonial Era to the Civil War, 1600-1865
Provides records of the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Colonial Era to the Civil War; pricing data from 1600 to 1865
The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2004
Provides records of the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia
Covers women of historical interest worldwide, from around 3100 BCE to the modern age

Reference Books

Located upstairs in the library (Level 2.5).

American Decades
Call Number: E 169.12 .A419
Westward Expansion
Call Number: E 156 .A435
The American Journey
Call Number: E 178.1 .A4925 2001
Encyclopedia of American History
Call Number: E 174 .E53 2003
Events That Changed America Through the Seventeenth Century
Call Number: E 178.3 .E93
U.S. Presidents and Foreign Policy
Call Number: E 176.1 .U16 2007