Research Guides: Learning Framework: Articles (Databases)

Library Databases

What Can You Find in Library Databases?

Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images, and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches get lots of results, but it can be difficult to determine which websites provide reliable, accurate info that’s appropriate for college-level research.

Signing In.

If you aren't on campus, you will need to sign in to access the databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use for eCampus access (full Dallas College email address and password). Click here for details - Signing In.

Using Databases Video

Library Databases - For Journal Articles and More

Database for Searching Many Topics

Sources on Many Different Subjects

The database linked below covers many different subject areas and can be used tor finding reliable research sources required for various classes.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines and newspapers on many subjects

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Not Available

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center is no longer available from the Dallas College Library. For similar career information, try searching the Occupational Outlook Handbook website using the link below.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Other Databases

The link below goes to go to an alphabetical list of all library databases and has a drop-down menu to find databases on specific subjects.

All Brookhaven Databases

Current Issues Databases

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Current event issues covered in periodical articles, ebook chapters, statistics, videos and more
SIRS Issue Researcher This link opens in a new window
🚧 Database has connection issues 🚧
Current events and issues focused on pro/con topics with articles from magazines and newspapers, timelines and images
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Essays, political magazine and newspaper articles, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference book articles

Education Databases

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Digests, references for additional information, citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Specialized collection education journals designed for professional educators

Country and Culture Database

CultureGrams Online This link opens in a new window
Country and territory culture reports that include maps, statistics and in-depth information

Using Library Databases

Newspaper Databases

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1984 to present
Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the Austin American-Statesman (coverage: 1997 to present), the Houston Chronicle (coverage: 1997 to present) and other Texas newspapers
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles for 40+ US and international newspapers, selective full-text articles from 389 regional US newspapers
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Create and activate account to access the New York Times and more
NOTE: NYTimes.com Pass Account required for access