Research Guides: Technical Writing: Articles (Databases)

Library Databases

What Can You Find in Library Databases?

Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images, and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches get lots of results, but it can be difficult to determine which websites provide reliable, accurate info that’s appropriate for college-level research.

Signing In.

If you aren't on campus, you will need to sign in to access the databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use for eCampus access (full Dallas College email address and password). Click here for details - Signing In.

Using Databases Video

Library Databases - For Journal Articles and More

Database for Searching Many Topics

Sources on Many Different Subjects

The database linked below covers many different subject areas and can be used tor finding reliable research sources required for various classes.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines and newspapers on many subjects

Science and Technology Databases

Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Information and current trends in technology with full-text articles for many publications
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Human impact on the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more

EBSCO Biology & Health Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles journals and other resources in the fields of nursing and allied health
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, full-text journals in nursing and allied health and a drug guide
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly articles in medicine and related health fields, uses MESH subject headings
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer health info on many topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative health database that includes full text peer-reviewed journal articles
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language collection of medical research and general health information published by Latin American medical publishers
Salud en Español This link opens in a new window
Consumer related medical, child care, health care and wellness information provided in Spanish
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology and observational and experimental methods

Database Guide

Click on the PDF link below to view a guide on using the databases made by EBSCO, such as named CINAHL Complete and Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition.

EBSCO Database Directions

Medical Dictionary & Encyclopedia Database

Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Answers to common health questions and links to medical dictionaries, encyclopedias and websites

Interactive Human Anatomy

Database with Topic Finder

Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, selected newsletters and pamphlets, topical overviews and reference books